The 7 Wonders of the World

The world is full of great and unimaginable architecture. These works of art existed in the past, but they are present in our societies today. They are called wonders. This article will present the 7 great achievements in the world today and in the past.

The 7 Wonders of the World in 2021

In the world today, 7 architectural wonders were unanimously designated in 2007 in Lisbon. This selection was made on the basis of precise criteria submitted to the Internet users. Here is the result of the final decision.
- The Great Wall of China
- Petra (in Jordan)
- The statue of Christ the Redeemer (Rio de Janeiro)
- Machu Picchu
- The archaeological site of Chichén Itzá ( Mexico)
- The Colosseum in Rome
- The Taj Mahal
It is important to remember that these 7 wonders of the world are the initiative of third parties and not of UNESCO.

The 7 Wonders of the Ancient World

In ancient times, there were also great architectures that stood out. History reveals that among them, 7 are considered wonders.
- The pyramid of Cheops
- The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
- The statue of Zeus
- The Mausoleum of Halicarnassus
- The Temple of Artemis
- The Colossus of Rhodes
- The Lighthouse of Alexandria
Of these wonders, only the pyramid of Cheops is believed to still exist. The others have been destroyed or even appear to be non-existent according to the research carried out. In general, the 7 wonders of the world all have common criteria. These are the splendid beauty of the achievements, their anchorage in the history of a country or the demonstrated architectural prowess. Today, it seems important to take in these monuments because they are part of the world's cultural heritage. A real asset for tourism.